Participant groups are used to filter certain participants from the large group of registrations. This allows you to send a targeted message to a specific group of participants. When you create a participant group, it is always dynamic. You can also convert a group to a static group. When you send a message to a participant group, the group changes to read-only. You can find out what this means below.
A dynamic group has one or more characteristics that are based on information from the registration form. The participants' choices determine the size of the participant group. These decide whether they belong to the group or not. The group can therefore increase or decrease over time.
With a static group, it is determined who belongs to the participant group and who doesn't on the basis of one or more characteristics. You can add or remove participants manually. To create a static group, you first create a dynamic group and then convert it to a static group.
This static group is fixed and cannot be reloaded on the basis of new or updated participants. For example, if a participant has the same group characteristics at a later time, it will not be added to the static group that was created earlier.
When you send a message to a participant group, this group gets the read-only status. In a dynamic group, this means that you cannot change the group settings. The system will still keep track of which participants belong to this group or not. This also applies to the message. Like with all messages, the system keeps track of whether new participants are eligible for the message. In a static group, this means that you are no longer able to manually add or remove participants.
Did you send a message to a group of participants - the group has the read-only status - and do you want to make changes? Then copy the group and make your changes to it there.